Get help now

Ruling dynasties

Updated January 17, 2019

Download Paper

File format: .pdf, .doc, available for editing

Ruling dynasties essay

Get help to write your own 100% unique essay

Get custom paper

78 writers are online and ready to chat

This essay has been submitted to us by a student. This is not an example of the work written by our writers.

Ruling dynasties: XIII (Thebes), XIV (Xoix), XV (Hyksos), XVI (Hyksos), XVII (Thebes) dynasty.

After the fall of the XIII dynasty, Egypt breaks up into independent nomas. Pretenduyuschaya for the title of the general Egyptian, XIV dynasty, established in Xois , in fact controls only part of the Delta. Around 1675 BC. e. Egypt is invaded by the Hyksos, which in the middle of the 18th century BC created the e.

a vast tribal alliance in the territory of Palestine and northern Arabia, and subject it to a terrible rout. They capture the Delta and make their capital the fortress of Avaris in its eastern part. their success was promoted by the fact that they, unlike the Egyptians, used horses in military affairs In the past, scientists were inclined to accept Manetho’s report on the appearance of Hyksos in Egypt as a description of the sudden invasion of hordes of conquerors carrying fire and destruction. In recent years, the rethinking of the material has forced us to draw new conclusions. First, archaeological excavations did not give exact confirmation that the Hyksos had invaded the country as conquerors; ceramics and fortifications, which were considered the remnants of their culture, have, by common opinion, another source. Their culture either fully corresponded to the local, or they quickly adopted the customs of the Egyptians.

Mane-von, embarrassed by false etymology, translated the word “Hyksos” as “the rulers of the shepherds”, but the “rulers of the mountains” were more accurate. Under this name they were well known to the Egyptians of the Middle Kingdom; for example, a group of such people in their “multi-colored cloaks” is represented in the painting of the tomb in Beni-Hassan. These “rulers of the uplands” were just wandering Semites who traded with Egypt or came to worship shrines and buy corn or water the herds according to the tradition-consecrated centuries. Hyksos chiefs take the title of Pharaoh (XV-XVI dynasty). However, they can not achieve real subordination of the entire Nile valley, under their authority, in fact, there is only Lower Egypt.

Although part of the Upper Egyptian Nomarchs recognizes the rule of Hyksos, this dependence remains rather formal, and it is limited to paying tribute. In the south of Upper Egypt, an independent Theban principality is formed. Only at the beginning of the XVII century BC. e.

Hyksos Pharaoh Huan managed to establish control over the whole of Upper Egypt. But after his death, Thebes regained their independence, and the Theban rulers proclaim themselves pharaohs (the 17th dynasty). The last of its representatives, Kamos, subordinates the other upper Egyptian nomas and, despite the resistance of the nobility, begins with the support of ordinary soldiers the struggle for the expulsion of the Hyksos. He makes a successful trip to the Delta and forces them to retreat to Avaris.

The decisive turning point in the war with strangers is achieved by the brother and heir of Kamos Ahmose I: he wins several victories and captures after three years of siege Avaris. The exile of the Hyksos ends with the capture of the fortress of Sharuchen in southern Palestine of approx. 1554 BC. e.

Ruling dynasties essay

Remember. This is just a sample

You can get your custom paper from our expert writers

Get custom paper

Ruling dynasties. (2019, Jun 07). Retrieved from